As  a teacher, I have my share of weaknesses, too.

Honestly, there are times when I am not adept with the lesson that I need to share to my students and there is no way to postpone the lesson.

What do I do? I study and put  everything in writing. My paper would be filled with important points  and asterisks and circles and different colors of pens. I would read them aloud and If I would have a hard time in explaining them, what I would do is get more examples from the internet and restudy everything.

( I don’t want to be put into a situation wherein my student would ask things about the lesson on which I couldn’t explain. )

The next step is to explain them to my students in its simplest forms. When I have explained the subject, I’m certain that I have already learned  it by heart.

Years later, my process has been validated by The Feynman Technique.

This technique was named after the Nobel Prize-winning physicist Richard Feynman – who has the title of  “The Great Explainer”. He has the ability of learning complex ideas and dissect them in simple ways. His idea of this technique is something similar to my method.

The steps to do these are the following:

  1. Choose a Content – Write down the name of the concept on your paper.
  2. Teach A Toddler – Input all the explanations on your paper and pretend that you’re teaching it to someone. ( My take: Go talk with your  baby sister or even your dog and act as if you’re the teacher. )
  3. Identify Gaps – As you explain things, you would identify the points that you don’t understand, highlight them and go back to the source material.
  4. Review And Simplify -Read and study the lesson one more time.  Or a few times more, on that matter until you get the hang of it.

“If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.”

Albert Einstein

