A special task has been assigned to me and I’m going to start on Saturday.

Am I scared? not really.
It’s the lack of experience that I’m anxious about.

I need to teach my four-year old niece to study.
My focus would be “Focus.” Sharing a  meditation  app to adults is a piece of cake; teaching a pre-school student would be  a life accomplishment.

On a serious note, with Kaizen in my mind, I researched about  concentration.

Below is a compilation of 10 ways I studied today on how to teach focus.

1. Yoga for children
Empower her for different Yoga poses and do breathing exercises using ABC photos. These poses are:
a. candle
b. cow
c. dog
Standing poses
d. Flamingo
e. candle
f. trees
g. horse
h. snake
i mouse
j. pretzel
Lastly, the “Do nothing” pose – This is about lying down for 1 or 2 minutes without doing anything, except to breathe.

2. Silent Ball
After teaching  Yoga, engage your child to do an outdoor activity. Involve other children to have more fun. Playing Silent Ball has various objectives . Aside from improved concentration ,  reducing stress, better social and emotional skills would the goals.,

3 Sitting game – This would challenge your child to sit on a chair without doing anything. Put a timer on how long can he/she do it, so as to measure her improvement.

4. Singing
Teaching young children won’t be complete without songs, and nursery rhymes.
Teach her the  Woodpecker song with this lyrics:

Woodpecker, woodpecker, do you find any bugs?
The child’s response should be: Uh -ah!
Woodpecker, woodpecker, do you find any bugs?
The child’s response should be: No, ma’am!
( The hand will move down the body to trasfer location)
Woodpecker, woodpecker, do you find any worms?
The child’s response should be: Na- uh!
( Move the hands on the sides)
Woodpecker, woodpecker, do you find any worms?
The child’s response should be: uh- huh!
Take those bugs up to the nest and share them with your babies.

5. Writing
Prepare a paper filled with dots for her to connect.

( My other plan is to use the Calm app for background sounds to advance her concentration while connecting the dots. )

dots

6. Speaking  (3-4 minutes)
Positive Affirmations  with calming sounds on the background.
I am ready ( 5x)
I am loved
I am smart.
I am strong.
I have fun at school.
I am an amazing kid.
I am focused.
I am ready. ( 5 X)

7.   Reading ABC

Jumble the flashcards and ask her to put  them n alphabetical order.

8. Brain Gym

This one is a tough task even for adults. Go ahead, improve your focus using these fun hand gestures.

9. Listening: 

Download  the sound of the sea waves  or  have Beethoven music while eating or doing other activities.
10. Have an aquarium at home. Watching the fish swim would calm the mind.

11. Rewards –

This doesn’t have to be monetary or foods; words of appreciation, whenever the child accomplishes a task, would suffice.

A bonus: Taking full hours of sleep would definitely improves one’s concentration.

Whoops. Catch you later, I need to focus  now and ZZZZzzzz’s….

Today’s quote is from a Hindu priest and someone who inspired me to write this post today. ”

“People don’t know how to concentrate because they are not taught how to do it. ”
Dandapani

 

 

 

rel=0&controls=0&showinfo=0&w=400&h=225]

